Around Lexington Things To Do Places To Go People To See Restaurants Movies log into calendar / register
Search by keyword or venue View Listings For A Day
    space Add Event


Art Museum at the University of Kentucky


address  405 Rose St.
 Lexington, KY  40506
phone (859) 257-5716
hours Tue.-Thu. 10 am-5 pm; Fri. 10 am-8 pm; Sat.-Sun. noon-5 pm
finearts.uky.edu/art-museum

Pushing the Envelope: Mail Art from the Archives of American Art

Pushing the Envelope: Mail Art from the Archives of American Art

Art Show
In the 1960s, mail art became an artistic practice engaging an international network of artistic participants. With letters, postcards, and packages—as well as material that tested the limits of what could be posted—mail artists circumvented museums and commercial galleries, creatively sidestepping the art market and often eluding government censors. Examining how it has worked across divergent cultural circumstances—from McCarthy-era America, to Soviet Poland, to Chile under the dictatorship of Augusto Pinochet—this exhibition engages issues of circulation, collaboration, and community in and among specific national contexts during the second half of the twentieth century.
exhibition;art;mail art
Event Info: (859) 257-5716
Ages: all ages
Price: free
Free
Event Website: finearts.uky.edu/art-museum
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Sun 3/24/19 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Tue 3/26/19 at 10am-5pm 
 • Wed 3/27/19 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 3/28/19 at 10am-5pm 
 • Fri 3/29/19 at 10am-8pm 
 • Sat 3/30/19 - Sun 3/31/19 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Tue 4/2/19 at 10am-5pm 
 • Wed 4/3/19 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 4/4/19 at 10am-5pm 
 • Fri 4/5/19 at 10am-8pm 
 • Sat 4/6/19 - Sun 4/7/19 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Tue 4/9/19 at 10am-5pm 
 • Wed 4/10/19 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 4/11/19 at 10am-5pm 
 • Fri 4/12/19 at 10am-8pm 
 • Sat 4/13/19 - Sun 4/14/19 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Tue 4/16/19 at 10am-5pm 
 • Wed 4/17/19 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 4/18/19 at 10am-5pm 
 • Fri 4/19/19 at 10am-8pm 
 • Sat 4/20/19 - Sun 4/21/19 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Tue 4/23/19 at 10am-5pm 
 • Wed 4/24/19 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 4/25/19 at 10am-5pm 
 • Fri 4/26/19 at 10am-8pm 
 • Sat 4/27/19 - Sun 4/28/19 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Tue 4/30/19 at 10am-5pm 
 • Wed 5/1/19 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 5/2/19 at 10am-5pm 
 • Fri 5/3/19 at 10am-8pm 
 • Sat 5/4/19 - Sun 5/5/19 at 12pm-5pm