Around Lexington Things To Do Places To Go People To See Restaurants Movies log into calendar / register
Search by keyword or venue View Listings For A Day
    space Add Event


Art Museum at the University of Kentucky


address  405 Rose St.
 Lexington, KY  40506
phone (859) 257-5716
hours Tue.-Thu. 10 am-5 pm; Fri. 10 am-8 pm; Sat.-Sun. noon-5 pm
finearts.uky.edu/art-museum

Alix Pearlstein: GRASS

Alix Pearlstein: GRASS

Art Show
Alix Pearlstein is a New York-based artist whose videos and performances bring together groups of actors to explore both scripted and improvised movements and dialogue. The results possess a sense of purpose and restraint as the camera and participating bodies negotiate shared space. We invited Pearlstein to visit Mill Ridge Farm, a family business in Lexington with a 50-year commitment to the breeding, care, and cultivation of thoroughbreds. This May, over three consecutive days in a single field, she filmed the same group of mares and foals. Her approach to filming emerged through prolonged observation of the horses and their daily routines. She came to consider the field as a stage and the horses as actors, albeit ones that she could not exactly direct. GRASS is a 30-minute film projection.
video;art
Event Info: (859) 257-5716
Ages: all ages
Price: free
Free
Event Website: finearts.uky.edu/art-museum
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Fri 10/19/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Sat 10/20/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Mon 10/22/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Tue 10/23/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Wed 10/24/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Thu 10/25/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Fri 10/26/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Sat 10/27/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Mon 10/29/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Tue 10/30/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Wed 10/31/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Thu 11/1/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Fri 11/2/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Sat 11/3/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Mon 11/5/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Tue 11/6/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Wed 11/7/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Thu 11/8/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Fri 11/9/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Sat 11/10/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Mon 11/12/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Tue 11/13/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Wed 11/14/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Thu 11/15/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Fri 11/16/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Sat 11/17/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Mon 11/19/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Tue 11/20/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Wed 11/21/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Thu 11/22/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Fri 11/23/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Sat 11/24/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Mon 11/26/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Tue 11/27/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Wed 11/28/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Thu 11/29/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Fri 11/30/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Sat 12/1/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Mon 12/3/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Tue 12/4/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Wed 12/5/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Thu 12/6/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Fri 12/7/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Sat 12/8/18 at 12pm-5pm