Around Lexington Things To Do Places To Go People To See Restaurants Movies log into calendar / register
Search by keyword or venue View Listings For A Day
    space Add Event


Transylvania University – Morlan Gallery


address  300 N. Broadway
 Lexington, KY  40508
phone (859) 233-8142
www.transy.edu/morlan/

Something Pretty

Something Pretty

Gallery
Work by Sadie Barnette, Tiffany Calvert, Angela Dufresne, Justin Favela, Stephen Rolfe Powell and HuiMeng Wang ------- As an adjective, pretty has many connotations. To be pretty is to be aesthetically pleasing, sensorially charming, and relatively beautiful. Yet the relative nature of that beauty also often renders things that are “pretty” as diminutive, decorative, and vapid. Yet even with this dismissal, we, as human beings, are invariably drawn to things that are pretty, and their aesthetic pleasure has the capacity to carry with it a further exploration of many theoretical, political, and practical issues. This exhibition seeks to complicate the notion of “pretty” by bringing together artists whose work engages with the aesthetics of prettiness, yet undercuts the diminutive and dismissive connotations of the label. This exhibition curated by Transylvania University assistant professor of art history, Emily Elizabeth Goodman, Ph.D.
Event Info: (859) 233-8142
Ages: Children under 12 should be accompanied by an adult
Price: FREE
Free
Event Website: http://www.transy.edu/about/morlan/calendar
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Mon 11/19/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Tue 11/20/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Wed 11/21/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Thu 11/22/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Fri 11/23/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Mon 11/26/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Tue 11/27/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Wed 11/28/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Thu 11/29/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Fri 11/30/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Mon 12/3/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Tue 12/4/18 at 12pm-5pm