Around Lexington Things To Do Places To Go People To See Restaurants Movies log into calendar / register
Search by keyword or venue View Listings For A Day
    space Add Event



Ralph Eugene Meatyard: Stages for Being

Art Show, Photography
Ralph Eugene Meatyard (1925 – 1972) moved to Lexington in 1950 and developed a passion for photography along with his career as an optician. Over the next two decades, he would craft the enigmatic images that would assure him a place in the history of the medium. He used masks, dolls, and found objects as unsettling props; mined architectural detail for abstract compositional elements; and set the mood with evocative natural lighting. Stages for Being—the largest exhibition of Meatyard’s work ever shown in his adopted hometown—celebrates his life and legacy with 100 rare, vintage prints.
photography;art;exhibition;meatyard
Event Info: (859) 257-5716
Ages: all ages
Price: free
Free
Event Website: finearts.uky.edu/art-museum
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Fri 10/19/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Sat 10/20/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Sun 10/21/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Tue 10/23/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Wed 10/24/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Thu 10/25/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Fri 10/26/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Sat 10/27/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Sun 10/28/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Tue 10/30/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Wed 10/31/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Thu 11/1/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Fri 11/2/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Sat 11/3/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Sun 11/4/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Tue 11/6/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Wed 11/7/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Thu 11/8/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Fri 11/9/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Sat 11/10/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Sun 11/11/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Tue 11/13/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Wed 11/14/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Thu 11/15/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Fri 11/16/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Sat 11/17/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Sun 11/18/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Tue 11/20/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Wed 11/21/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Thu 11/22/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Fri 11/23/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Sat 11/24/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Sun 11/25/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Tue 11/27/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Wed 11/28/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Thu 11/29/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Fri 11/30/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Sat 12/1/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Sun 12/2/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Tue 12/4/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Wed 12/5/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Thu 12/6/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Fri 12/7/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Sat 12/8/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Sun 12/9/18 at 12pm-5pm 

Art Museum at the University of Kentucky
address  405 Rose St.
 Lexington, KY  40506
phone (859) 257-5716
hours Tue.-Thu. 10 am-5 pm; Fri. 10 am-8 pm; Sat.-Sun. noon-5 pm
finearts.uky.edu/art-museum